Basil & Walnut Pesto – Vegan MoFo Day 27

The prompt for today is to talk about our favourite herb or spice. I love using different herbs and spices and it’s always so hard to choose a “favourite”. But I decided this was a good time to use up my HUGE basil plant.

The above picture was a few weeks ago, it had grown even bigger! But it was starting to get a little overgrown, and basil season is almost over, so I decided to cut it all down and make pesto!

I used quite a lot of basil here because I had a lot, and the recipe probably made about four cups of pesto which is a lot considering you don’t use much in meals! I’ve put the extra in the freezer though – if you freeze it in individual portions you can just heat it through and use! But if you have less basil, just halve the recipe.

I made a pesto mashed potatoes with some of the pesto – just make your usual mashed potatoes, and stir through 2-3 tbsp pesto. It wasn’t very pretty though, although super tasty!

In my pesto recipe, I used walnuts instead of pine nuts. I love the taste walnuts give – and it also makes it a whole lot cheaper than the traditional pesto recipe!

Basil and Walnut Pesto

  • Servings: about 4 cups
  • Print

Ingredients

  • 275g basil, washed
  • 100g walnuts
  • 2 tbsp nutritional yeast
  • 125ml olive oil
  • 3 garlic cloves, crushed
  • 100ml lemon juice
  • Salt & Pepper

Directions

  1. Place all ingredients except the olive oil in your food processor.
  2. Set the processor running, and slowly pour in the olive oil through the top.
  3. Run the processor until the pesto is mostly smooth! Taste and season.
  4. Serve stirred through pasta, potatoes, on bread, however you like. Can be frozen.

Leave a comment