Bean and Mince Tacos! – Vegan MoFo Day 28

Today’s prompt is a question – “Tacos VS Burritos?” I’ll be straight up and admit that I haven’t really cooked much Mexican food. When I was a kid, we used to have tacos from an Old El Paso kit, and sometimes “fajitas” and “enchiladas” too. But it wasn’t very often – and I don’t think I ever had a burrito!

So please excuse the lack of authenticity in this post. I did not really have much of an idea of just how to make a taco before I researched for this post! I did have a go at making a burrito, but it was most certainly not blog worthy!

I used hard-shell tacos because that’s what I know as tacos, and filled them with a mixture of beans and mince, which I made separately. Topped with lettuce, Tofutti sour cream (delicious!) and a jalapeno and they were very nice!

So now that I have ventured into the world of tacos, I’ve decided they’re pretty good, and we should have more of them over here in England!

Bean & Mince Tacos


Ingredients

    for the beans
  • 1 can kidney beans, drained
  • 1 tsp smoked paprika
  • 1/2 tsp onion powder
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp coriander
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • pinch cayenne
  • 150ml water
  • for the mince

  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, chopped
  • 2 tbsp tomato puree
  • 1 tsp marmite
  • 100ml water
  • 200g soya mince
  • 4 hard shell tacos
  • shredded lettuce
  • vegan sour cream
  • jalapenos

Directions

  1. In a frying pan, fry the onion and garlic until soft.
  2. Add the marmite and tomato puree and stir through the mince.
  3. Pour in the water, and leave to cook until all has been absorbed.
  4. Meanwhile, make the beans. In a saucepan, heat the beans and water together, and stir through the spices.
  5. Using a potato masher, mash the beans until almost completely mashed. Leave to cook until thick.
  6. Once the mince and the beans are cooked, assemble the tacos.
  7. Place 2 tbsp of the mince mixture in a taco, followed by 2 tbsp of the beans, then some lettuce, sour cream, and finally a jalapeno.
  8. Repeat with all four tacos and serve!

Leave a comment