Chickpea Scramble – VeganMoFo Day 29

It’s the penultimate day of VeganMoFo 2018! Has September flown by, or crawled? A bit of both to be honest! Today’s prompt is “Brunch” – now, I love the kind of foods you have at brunch! Anything from pancakes to sausages are great with me. For this meal, I made scramble…not from eggs (of course) or tofu (though that is tasty) but chickpea flour!

I’ve already got a recipe for chickpea flour scramble on here, but it’s Indian spiced and has vegetables in. It’s really tasty, but this one is a basic one which goes really well with other brunch flavours – I had it here with bagels, fried tomatoes, and avocado.

Chickpea flour is a great source of protein and really good for making things like scrambles, pancakes, and fritters with.

Chickpea Scramble


Ingredients

  • 1 tbsp oil
  • 1 onion, finely chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 250g chickpea flour
  • 1 tbsp nutritional yeast
  • 1 tsp vegetable stock powder
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 500ml cold water

Directions

  1. Begin by frying the onion and garlic in the oil in a large pan, until softened.
  2. Mix the chickpea flour, nutritional yeast, stock powder, garlic powder, onion powder, and salt together in a bowl.
  3. Very gradually stir in the cold water, mixing constantly to avoid lumps.
  4. Pour the chickpea flour mixture over the onions and garlic and leave for a couple of minutes, until the edges start to set.
  5. Next, with a spatula, scramble the mixture for approximately five minutes until well scrambled and cooked. Taste and adjust seasoning as needed.
  6. Serve immediately.

3 thoughts on “Chickpea Scramble – VeganMoFo Day 29

  1. I don’t think I’ve actually made a chickpea flour scramble yet, but I can imagine how well it would work. I’ll add this to my massive list of bookmarked VeganMoFo recipes!

    Like

Leave a comment