Nut Roast Burgers – VeganMoFo Day 30

Today, the penultimate VeganMoFo 2017 day, is about doing a practice run for an upcoming holiday. Well, I’m a Brit, so I don’t celebrate thanksgiving. It’s my birthday in November, but I’m secretly hoping someone else will take care of that. And Christmas? Uhh…I kinda haven’t thought at all about what I’m going to eat for Christmas yet, except some cranberry marzipan cookies which are the best thing about the season. So, I went with something familiar, but Christmassy enough.

burger1

These are nut roast burgers! Side note: how difficult is it to take good photos of burgers?! I like making burgers but it’s really hard to post recipes, because I can never get good photos… Anyway, I made these nut roast balls earlier in the month, and they were so tasty that I thought I’d make them into burgers. They’re almost the same recipe as the balls, except they also have beans in, to make them more burger-y. They’d be really great for a casual kind of Christmas meal!

burger2

These are baked in the oven, which means you don’t have the hassle of frying them, and I bet they’d work really well served with more seasonal flavours like brussels, cranberry sauce, and so on!

 

Nut Roast Burgers

  • Servings: Makes 6 burgers
  • Print

Ingredients

  • 1 onion, finely chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • 1 can white beans, drained & rinsed
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 150g mixed nuts
  • 50g walnuts
  • 50g ground almonds (almond flour)
  • 2 tsp peanut butter
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp ground pepper
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 200ml vegetable stock
  • 200g breadcrumbs

Directions

    Preheat the oven to 180C/355F
  1. Begin by frying the onion and garlic in the olive oil, until translucent.
  2. Meanwhile, in a large bowl, mash the beans until thoroughly mashed.
  3. In a food processor, blitz the walnuts and mixed nuts until they are finely chopped. Transfer to the bowl with the beans.
  4. Into the nuts and beans, add the cooked onion and garlic, and the remaining ingredients, and stir until completely combined.
  5. Form the mixture into six burger shaped patties, and place on a baking tray.
  6. Put the burgers in the preheated oven for 30 minutes, turning once half way.

7 thoughts on “Nut Roast Burgers – VeganMoFo Day 30

  1. Yum! I might have to make these. I’ve also got Isa’s Thanksgiving burgers from Super Fun Times on my list, so I’ll have to see how the two recipes compare. Even though they’re different holidays, I feel like the ingredients will have to be pretty similar.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: VeganMoFo 2019! – Walks, Talks & Eats

Leave a comment