Vegan MoFo Day 10: I’m Blue

I had an awesome post planned out today. I was going to make some super cute, stylish cupcakes with blue food colouring and sprinkles too, and they were going to look SO GOOD.

But, they didn’t.

Oh, they looked okay and tasted fine but, the blue didn’t work, and they certainly weren’t the awesome cupcakes I had planned.

I think this was for a few reasons. Firstly, I could not find vegan blue sprinkles anywhere! Why do sprinkles contain such icky ingredients?! So, clever me decided to make my own.

I used a block of icing and diced it into sprinkle sized pieces. But, these didn’t work so well because they were too soft.

I also made two lots of cake batter.

But I didn’t make it an even amount of batter for each. I coulda fixed this by, like they do on the bake off, weighing out the batter but, who am I kidding, I’m way too lazy for that.

I also had a problem with my cupcake tray.

It’s really, really shallow, and I totally overfilled it. So, the cupcakes ended up wide and shallow, not nice and fluffy like I wanted.

And then I had a problem with my oven.

We recently moved to a house that no longer has a fan oven, so for the first time in my life I’m having to use an oven without a fan. Which means I have to alter the temperatures, and this just didn’t come out quite right. Which resulted in sinking cupcakes.

They don’t taste bad, and they aren’t terrible cupcakes, but they aren’t quite right. I thought about skipping this day and not posting anything, but decided, well why not, I can post cake fails too. Everyone has cooking and baking that doesn’t come out quite right, and there’s nothing wrong with that! We just only tend to post the awesome looking ones. So here’s a less awesome one to break the flow!

Leave a comment